Friday, July 3, 2015

If you Liked Wonder by R.J. Palacio, here's some readalikes!

If you liked Wonder, you might like:
Mockingbird by Katherine Erksine
A girl with Asperger’s syndrome comes to terms with her brother’s death.
So B. It by Sarah Weeks
Heidi tries to decipher a change in her mentally –disabled mother’s few speaking words.
One for the Murphys by Linda Mullaly Hunt
When Carley is placed in foster care, she goes to live with the Murphys.
Almost Home by Joan Bauer
Sugar and her mom become homeless, and learn to navigate a whole new world.
Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper
Melody is a genius—but no one knows because she cannot talk with her cerebral palsy. Finally, someone figures out a device that helps her speak.
The CandyMakers by Wendy Mass
A young man who was raised in a candy factory enters a world competition for candy making kids.
Rules by Cynthia Lord

A girl bonds with her brother with autism by teaching him the proper “rules of the world.”

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Read This! Going into Fourth Grade

























Secret Agent Jack Stalwart by Elizabeth Singer Hunt
series, including:
The Mystery of the Deadly Dinosaur
The Search for the Sunken Treasure
The Mystery of the Mona Lisa
The Caper of the Crown Jewels
A secret agent kid goes around the world to save treasures!
Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little by Peggy Gifford
Moxy Maxwell does not want to do her summer reading…sound familiar?
Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
Opal’s new dog gives her the courage to ask her father about the mother she never knew
We the Children: Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School by Andrew Clements
Benjamin Pratt and friends have to save their school (and national historical treasures) in this first installment of a mystery adventure series!
The Year of the Book by Andrea Cheng
All Anna knows for sure is that friendship is complicated, and reading is awesome.
Swindle by Gordon Korman
Griffin and friends have to steal back a rare baseball card from an adult who stole it from him.
Regarding the Fountain by Kate Klise
Told entirely in letters, postcards and newspaper articles, a school class corresponds with an artist to design a new water fountain for the school.
Don’t Know Much about the 50 States by Kenneth C. Davis
Facts about the 50 states – full of things you NEVER knew!
100% Pure Fake by Lyn Thomas
Create your own totally gross special effects!
ReMake it! By Tiffany Threadgould
Using things you would normally throw out, make awesome d├ęcor and projects for the home!

Neil DeGrasse Tyson by Pete DiPrimio
This is the story of the famous astrophysicist, who loved to look at the stars as a kid and turned his interests into a career.

Sunday, June 28, 2015

Summer Reading - Crime Fiction

























Join our Adult Summer Reading Club - Each book you read is your raffle ticket to weekly prizes!

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Got teens? Entering grades 7 through 12!

The more you read, the more chances you have to win!

Friday, June 26, 2015

Read This! Picture Books

by Samantha Berger with illustrations by Kristyna Litten

A sloth named Snuggleford Cuddlebun leaves her house for a very special event. The event is Snoozefest, a music festival for the sleepy. Snuggleford Cudlebun sleeps through the event and has a wonderful nap-py time.
This rhyming, adorable story is wonderful for older readers. Sloths are popular as the new cute animal and this Snuggleford character is plenty cute. The illustrations are warm and happy, and the purpley festival pictures have a lot to look at! Younger readers will like the rhythm of the story, and parents are sure to get the jokes.

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Read This! Adults

by Alafair Burke

McKenna Wright, a disgraced former Assistant District Attorney obtains footage for her new online newspaper reporting job of a kid who is rescued from subway tracks by the woman he steals from. The woman looks mysteriously like a woman from McKenna's past, Susan, a close friend who up and disappeared from her life a few years ago, and whom McKenna thinks the police have not tried hard enough to find. What would have been a hit-and-run story of a thief-turned-victim becomes a hot pursuit for McKenna, who stumbles into many government conspiracies, family dramas and maybe some secrets that her own loved ones are hiding...
Twists and turns abound in this complicated, super plot-driven mystery from Burke. You may have heard her name from working on titles with the likes of Mary Higgins Clark, but the author certainly has a knack for a fast pace and an interesting main character. The best secondary character in this book, a police detective who re-examines the missing persons case on Susan, deserves to have a novel all to himself. Fans of Mary Higgins Clark, James Patterson and Harlan Coben will surely find a great beach read here.